Steely Cavalry win Pratap Singh polo

first_imgith light fading rapidly in the final of the Hermes Sir Pratap Singh Cup polo tournament on Sunday, it became even more difficult to distinguish between the teams; not because of difficulty in sighting the players but due to the neck and neck polo played by Cavalry USPA and Jindal Sahgal at the Jaipur Polo Ground.In the end, Cavalry USPA pipped Jindal Sahgal to the post in sudden death after both teams were tied on nine goals each at the end of the fifth chukker.Samir Suhag successfully took an open goal penalty to seal the match in Cavalry’s favour.Ravi Rathore opened the account for Cavalry in the first chukker before Abhimanyu Pathak and Vishal Singh scored to give Jindal- Sahgal the lead.In the second chukker, Rathore scored to take the score to two-all. A goal each by Simran Shergill and Samir Suhag (60- yard penalty) maintained the deadlock. After Samir converted a 40- yard penalty for Cavalry, Gaurav Sahgal teamed up with Abhimanyu as the latter restored parity at the end of the second chukker The third chukker was another battle of attrition as Samir and Vishal put Cavalry ahead by two goals.But the game took an unexpected turn as the referee waived the red flag and warned both teams for protesting the foul calls. The break in the game helped Jindal claw back with Simran and Vishal Singh taking the score to six all.In the second last chukker, Vishal Singh took a penalty that scooted along the ground but found the back of the goal. A spot hit was successfully converted by Samir but Vishal Chauhan’s goal from the left gave Cavalry a slender lead at the end of the chukker.The last chukker saw Cavalry extending their lead after Samir took a 60- yard penalty. But Jindal were in no mood to relent as first Abimanyu first scored from an acute angle on the right before Vishal Singh scored from a spot hit to end the chukker tied on 9- all.The match went into sudden death and after Cavalry were awarded an open goal penalty, Samir completed the formalities to clinch the Pratap Singh Cup.Scores Cavalry-USPA – Samir Suhag (6), Ravi Rathore (2), Vishal Chauhan (2) Jindal- Sahgal – Vishal Singh (4), Abhimanyu Pathak (3), Simran Sherigll (2)advertisementlast_img

Leave your comment